Delhi – Alwar RRTS

Delhi – SNB – Alwar RRTS is a 164 km under construction semi-high speed rail line connecting Delhi – Gurgaon – Dharuhera – Rewari – SNB (Shahjahanpur – Neemrana – Behrod) – Alwar through a series of tunnels and elevated viaducts as part of Delhi’s new Regional Rapid Transit System.

This RRTS line will pass through the urbanized and industrialized areas of Haryana and connect Delhi airport with the RRTS network, with an aim to increase the overall productivity of the National Capital Region.

The line’s Delhi – SNB section (106 km) is one of the three early bird (Phase 1) lines to be developed by the National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC) where trains will run up to a maximum speed of 160 km/hr to cover the entire distance in just over an 1 hour.

In the first phase of this line, construction will be carried out on the Delhi – SNB section (106 km), followed by SNB to Sotanala (35 km) in the second phase, and finally SNB to Alwar (58 km) in the third phase, making the entire corridor 199 km long.

Delhi Alwar RRTS’ DPR (Detailed Project Report) for the Delhi – SNB section was approved for construction by the NCRTC’s board in December 2018, Haryana Government in February 2019 and Rajasthan Government in June 2019.

Key Figures

Operational: 0 km | Under Construction: 10 km | Approved: 96 km | Proposed: 93 km

  • NCRTC’s Deadline: Not Announced

  • My Estimated Completion: 2028

  • Estimated Project Cost: Rs. 37,000 crores

  • Funding Sources: Foreign loan (60%) possibly from JICA and World Bank

  • Estimated Daily Ridership: 8.5 lakh passengers/day (2030)

System Specifications

  • Design Speed: 180 kmph

  • Operational Speed: 160 kmph

  • Average Speed: 100 kmph

  • Track Gauge: Standard Gauge – 1435 mm

  • Rolling Stock: Aerodynamic, 3.2 m wide x 22 m long, stainless steel / aluminium body

  • Signaling: European Train Control System (ETCS) Level 2 of ERTMS

  • Traction: 1 x 25 KV AC overhead catenary (OHE)

  • Seating Arrangement: Transverse

  • Classes: Economy and Business (1 coach per train)

Delhi – Alwar RRTS Route Information

Phase 1: Delhi – Gurgaon – SNB (106 km) Phase 2: SNB – Behror – Sotanala (35 km) Phase 3: SNB – Alwar (58 km)

  • Type: Elevated, Underground & At-Grade

  • Depot: Dharuhera & Alwar

  • Number of Stations: 22

  • Stations on Main-Line (18): Nizamuddin/Sarai Kale Khan, INA, Munirka, Aerocity, Udyog Vihar, Gurgaon Sector 17, Rajiv Chowk, Kherki Daula, Manesar, Panchgaon, Bilaspur Chowk, Dharuhera Depot, MBIR, Rewari, Bawal, SNB, Khairthal, Alwar.

  • Stations on Spur Line (4): Shahjahanpur, Neemrana, Behror, Sotanala